#MEALPREP

Follow a couple of fitness inspiration pages on instagram and you will most definitely have heard about meal prep, or maybe your PT has mentioned it to you. But what is it? And how do you do it??

Well the good news is…..it doesn’t have to be just chicken and rice haha. I’ve had a few different people ask me how to do meal prep, so I thought I’d share with you a couple of my tricks and favourite recipes J and even if you’re already a whiz at whipping up your meals in advance….maybe you can throw some tips my way, or maybe this might give you some new inspiration….who knows, lets just see.

So firstly, what is it? Other than just a trendy word (or couple of words), meal prep is really just preparing your meals in advance. Pretty simple huh. Anyway, have you ever heard the saying ‘fail to prepare and prepare to fail’….well its totally true. How often have you got up in the morning with every intention of making yourself a healthy lunch to take to work, only to get sidetracked and before you know it you’re running late and the whole healthy lunch thing gets thrown out the window. So by preparing you’re meals in advance, this eliminates said problem. Now I just prep the meals that I need when I’m at work (lunch and snacks etc.), but if you’re someone who works late/early or just lacks motivation in the evenings, then maybe prepping dinners and breakfast is the way to go for you. The trick is to allocate yourself a set ‘meal prep’time, I like to do mine on a Sunday afternoon…..I try and make a roast for dinner on Sundays so while that’s in the oven it gives me time to prepare all my meals for the week ahead, but that’s just me. So this is how my basic meal prep looks:

Morning Tea: I normally bake a healthy sweet treat that will keep in the fridge and last me all week                for morning tea. Some ideas are-

  • Muffins
  • Banana bread (or my coconut blueberry bread ;))
  • Biscuits
  • Bliss Balls

Lunch: Now here you need to think about what you have access to at work or school….like if you don’t have anywhere to heat something up, probably take something that you know you enjoy cold.

  • Salad
  • Quiche or savoury muffins
  • Leftovers (you don’t need to meal prep these as such, but still such a perfect lunch option)

Really you’re options are endless with Lunch, try to get a good balance of all the macronutrients needed though. I’m super boring and a lot of the time will just have some kind of spiced chicken, brown rice and some mixed veggies hahaha exciting hey.

11055449_357931591080741_1819501092_n

Afternoon Snack: Obviously you can have morning tea snacks for afternoon tea and vice versa, as I said this is what my basic meal prep looks like, and I like to have sweet stuff in the morning and savoury in the afternoon.

  • Bag up some nuts or a trail mix
  • Air pop some popcorn and set into little bags
  • Chop up and fruit or veggies sticks

So there you have it…..this is how I meal prep, you will probably do it differently, or maybe its very similar. Either way, I hope I gave you some inspiration, ideas maybe…or yeah, perhaps you have some tips for me on how I can do it better. Also….DRINK LOTS OF WATER.

Big Love

Steph xx

Leave a comment